Building Our Dream Home

20140426_120718

My husband and I decided to build our very own house! That’s right! BUILD OUR OWN HOUSE. Now I am no stranger to the process of building a house because I was lucky enough to have a father and mother who built all three homes that I have lived in. As for my husband though, he has never taken on such a large project. I feel like we are about to embark on a journey of a lifetime.

When I say build our own house, I am not talking about hiring an architect, contractors, handy men, or any other type of hired help. I mean that my father and mother will be teaching my husband and I how to build our house with our very own hands! My parents have never hired outside help and have hammered in every last nail on their own.

I was raised in a home where a father knew how to fix everything. I mean EVERYTHING. I have never been on the phone to call the plumber, or roofer, or electrician. I simply thought that people everywhere knew how to fix everything. As I grew  up I realized that this was not the norm. I had no idea that my father was so talented and patient. Repairing and maintaining homes is a lot of work. Also, building a home from the ground up is a lot of work.

I want to share some photographs I took of our land. The land is just under 3 acres. When we bought the land it was covered by creosol. Creosol is a very flammable, ugly bush. When I took these photos my husband and father had already spent 5 months clearing brush. So what you will see is a nice piece of land that has been cleaned up.

Slide01.jpg

Slide02.jpg

Slide04.jpg

 

Slide06.jpg

Slide07.jpg

Slide10.jpg

Slide11.jpg

 

 

 

One thought on “Building Our Dream Home

  1. Mercy se m’escapa, així.Una persona sàvia em va dir una vegada “per entendre una ment malalta ha de tenir una ment malalta – així que agrairia que no ho enc8#t.&ne221;Estic agraït.recentment va publicar l’alba..

    Like

Leave a Reply

