The Plans

Hi Everyone!!

Thanks for all the views on my blog. I am so excited to be sharing this experience with others and letting you really see what we do on the weekends. Building a house is a huge project and it is such a rewarding feeling to do it yourself.

I wanted to share with you the plans for the house. I have posted some pictures explaining what the land looks like and where the house will go. I want to now explain the floor plan.

Screen Shot 2015-12-13 at 7.27.00 AM

The house is going to be roughly 1,900 square feet and two stories.

The bottom story is going to be our living space. When you walk in the front door you will walk into the living room. When you turn to the right you will enter the dining room. While standing in the dining room the staircase will be to the right. As you continue walking through the house you will end up in the kitchen. The kitchen is at the back of the house because this is where I spend a lot of my time and that is where the million dollar view is!

Screen Shot 2015-12-13 at 7.25.25 AM.png

Also, off of the kitchen will be a doorway to the garage. The garage is going to be 500 sq. ft.. I plan on using some of the space for an at home gym!

When you walk up the stairs that are located in the dining room, you enter the upstairs living room. The upstairs living room is straight and to the left. When you walk forward and turn right you will enter the master bedroom. The master bedroom is located above the garage. Inside the master bedroom there are two closets and a bathroom.

When you exit the master and turn to the left you will walk down a hallway. Off of the hallway there is a laundry room closet, bathroom and two bedrooms. I am thrilled to be have a laundry room closet upstairs. I think this will make doing laundry a little bit easier. Also, I won’t have to tote dirty clothes through the entire house as I make my way to a laundry room.

Screen Shot 2015-12-13 at 7.25.46 AM.png

The floor plan was hand drawn my mom, Julie. This is the 3rd house to has drawn for my dad to build. She does things the old school way and drags out the drafting board, large papers, pencils and rulers. She still hand draws everything. When we dealt with the county, many people were very surprised to see her plans and blown away by how neatly they were put together. Having my mom draw the floor plans has its major downfalls and benefits. I am a very picky person when it comes to my living space. So we had a lot of back and forth about what she could do and what it will look like, but in the end I got what I wanted and I couldn’t be happier.

IMG_2452

Leave a Reply

