Back to School 2016

Going back to school always gets me excited. For us teachers it’s an amazing time full of hope and anticipation. While we may be stressed with our never ending list, when it’s all done and set up, the reward is completely worth it.

This year, for the first time, I get to repeat the grade I taught the previous year! I am teaching first grade again and I am so joyed. SO, this year while prepping for back to school, I got to finally make my pinterest teacher dreams come true!

Teacher collaboration is so important to our profession. Being able to share with one another our bank of ideas is truly a blessing. I am so glad to share with you my ideas and my classroom set up this year. SO please get inspired and share pictures of your class with me!

Let me take you on a tour of my pinterest dream classroom!

When you walk in….

I have 5 sets of 5 student groups.

IMG_3677.jpg

When you turn to the right…

I used the pink and black shelf to divide the classroom library. I have cubbies to the right.

IMG_3678.jpg

Getting a closer look at the classroom library…

I bought these little dollar bags at Target, cut them, and wrapped them around cardboard to make this Dr.Seuss squares. I drew Thing 1 and Thing 2 and gave them tissue paper hair.

IMG_3676.jpg

I put in three chairs at the library, BUT I just ordered a kiddie couch on Scholastic with my Scholastic Book Points!  I CANNOT wait for it to come!!!

IMG_3675.jpg

Walking backwards out of the classroom library. ..

We end up at the carpet up front looking at my easel and read aloud spot.

IMG_3674.jpg

Turning to the left at the carpet…

You see my teacher area. I bought those magnets Oriental Trading Company and I use them to schedule our day.

IMG_3673.jpg

The view from the other side of the classroom.

This is the part I am most proud of. The bookshelves really organized my room and made it a pinterest dream. 🙂 I used chalkboard paint on the top of the cabinets!

IMG_3671.jpg

IMG_3672.jpgIMG_3679.jpg

After three days of setting up, I got to attend a wonderful wedding on Friday and relax. It was so great to get set up and all ready to go and then be able to enjoy a nice evening.

IMG_3688.jpg

Here’s to a wonderful new year!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

